Champions of Pride Awards

championsofprideThe Charlotte Pride Board of Directors is pleased to open nominations for our seventh annual Charlotte Pride Champions of Pride Awards, as well as nominations for this year’s Parade Grand Marshal(s)

The Champions of Pride Awards seek to recognize those whose work and dedication exemplify the spirit of Pride. Our Champions endeavor to empower and unite LGBTQ and allied people through their leadership, service and support. Champions understand the importance of celebrating our past, present and future while advancing LGBTQ rights and visibility.

2019 Nominations have now closed.

Harvey Milk Award – Given annually to an individual or a couple to honor exceptional leadership, service to the community and those who champion LGBTQ causes that impact the Charlotte community and beyond.

Outstanding Ally Award – Given annually to an individual or a couple to honor those who do not identify as LGBTQ, but who have stalwartly supported the LGBTQ community with a demonstrated, ongoing passion and commitment to better LGBTQ lives.

Young Catalyst Award – Given annually to an individual or a couple to recognize a young adult leader under the age of 30 who is an “up-and-coming” leader within the community and/or whose contributions to the community have carried significant impact over the last year.

Legacy Award – Given to an individual or couple to honor a lifelong commitment of outstanding leadership and service to the Charlotte LGBTQ community for an extended period of years; this special award may be presented from time-to-time by the committee.

Parade Grand Marshal(s) – One or more individuals or organizations who are selected to be the ceremonial leader(s) of the parade. The Grand Marshal(s) participate in the parade by riding or walking at the front of the parade and are selected in recognition of their significant accomplishments or contributions to the Charlotte and Carolinas LGBTQ community.

Past Champions of Pride:
Inaugural Champions of Pride, 2013
Second Annual Champions of Pride, 2014
Third Annual Champions of Pride, 2015
Fourth Annual Champions of Pride, 2016
Fifth Annual Champions of Pride, 2017
Sixth Annual Champions of Pride, 2018